Home » News » BRCF Awards Scholarships to Class of 2019

BRCF Awards Scholarships to Class of 2019

The Blowing Rock Community Foundation is proud to announce the scholarship recipients for 2015. The six students pictured below will join the current eighteen scholarship recipients for a total of twenty-four scholarships awarded for the 2015-2016 academy year. This includes the first recipient of the Nancy and David Rankin Scholarship – Sarah Gailes, and the third recipient of the Stevens Scholarship – Haley Banks Harwood. Sarah will receive $10,000 per year and will attend Wingate University. Haley will receive $15,000 per year and will attend UNC Chapel Hill.

Austin Northern will receive the Judy Burns Memorial Scholarship for $2,000. Tucker Chasteen, Rachel Norwood, and Lily Weeks will each receive $2,000 per year.

Three scholarship recipients will graduate this May – Jenny Myers and Kathryn Smith from North Carolina State University and Robbie Sherrill from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The Foundation initially awarded one full scholarship (including tuition, room and board, and books). In 1999, Amber Teague Bratt was the first Foundation scholarship recipient to complete her undergraduate degree. Since then, ninety students have received scholarships totaling over $450,000. Of that number, over ninety percent have graduated with undergraduate or associate degrees and many have, or are in the process of, obtaining advanced degrees.

The Foundation is very proud of these scholarship recipients both past and present! Many thanks to all of the members of the community who have contributed time, talent, and resources to support the Foundation and our amazing young people.

The 2015 Scholarship Recipients Are:

Haley Banks Harwood
Sarah Gailes
Austin Northern
Tucker Chasteen
Rachel Norwood
Lily Weeks

Comments are closed.