Home » News » BRCF Awards Scholarships to Class of 2021

BRCF Awards Scholarships to Class of 2021

The Blowing Rock Community Foundation is proud to announce the scholarship recipients for 2017.  The six students pictured below will join the current twenty scholarship recipients for a total of twenty-two scholarships awarded for the 2017-2018 academic year. This includes the third recipient of the Jane and Dan Wolfe Scholarship – Chloe Shaut, the second recipient of the Nancy and David Rankin Scholarship – Cierra Terrant, and the first recipient of the Marty and Ted Couch Scholarship – Collin Linnville. Six scholarship recipients will graduate this May – Cole Ellis from Appalachian State University, Tammy Rich from Caldwell Community College, Kendra Trivette from Guilford Technical Institute, Ashlyn Van Dyke from Bluefield College, Sam Weeks from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Austin Wilcox from East Tennessee State University. Abby Houston and Kylie Winklemann will also graduate from Appalachian State University in December.

The Foundation initially awarded one full scholarship (including tuition, room and board, and books).  In 1999, Amber Teague Bratt was the first Foundation scholarship recipient to complete her undergraduate degree.  Since then, ninety plus students have received scholarships totaling over $623,000.  Of that number, over ninety percent have graduated with undergraduate or associates degrees and many have, or are in the process of, obtaining advanced degrees.

The Foundation is very proud of these scholarship recipients both past and present!  Many thanks to all of the members of the community who have contributed time, talent, and resources to support the Foundation and the amazing young people in our community!!!

Comments are closed.