For 2018-2019, the Blowing Rock Community Foundation, Inc. has earmarked monies to fund the following new scholarships: two $2000 scholarships, one $5000 scholarship, and one $15,000 scholarship (Jane and Dan Wolfe Scholarship). These scholarships are established to honor Blowing Rock students attending institutions of higher education – community college, technical school or two/four year colleges and universities. These scholarships are available for eight semesters of undergraduate study. Qualifications for these scholarships are as follows:

  • must be a student (or will enter in Fall, 2018) at a community college,
    technical school, or two/four year college or university
  • must currently live and have lived for a minimum of five years in the Blowing Rock School District
  • must have attended Watauga High School for a minimum of two years
    (exceptions may be made for home school students and/or private/prep school students)
  • must have a high school grade point average of 3.0 or better
  • must submit a completed application and a typed 1-2 page statement which will include the following:
    -goals for the future – academic as well as personal and professional
    -academic and extracurricular activities
    -financial information

Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of merit (50%) (scholarship, extracurricular/community service/work experiences, leadership, and character) and need (50%) (family resources and income, other siblings in college, family circumstances, other available financial aid, and any other relevant information).

Completed applications must be mailed to P.O. Box 525, Blowing
Rock, North Carolina 28605, be in this mailbox by 5:00 P.M. on
March 9, 2018, or be postmarked by 5:00 P.M. on Friday, March 9, 2018. Applications will not be accepted at any other place, after the March 9th deadline, and/or without all information included.

Applications are available at the Guidance Office at Watauga High School, at Blowing Rock Town Hall, or online here:

Interviews will be held on Wednesday, March 28, 2018 from 4:00 P.M. – 7:00 P.M. and on Thursday, March 29, 2018 from 4:00 P.M. – 7:00 P.M. at the Blowing Rock Community Library.

About BRCF Named Scholarships

The Blowing Rock Community Foundation is honored to currently have four named scholarships that may be renewed for four years if students continue to meet the eligibility requirements. These scholarships are as follows:

David and Ginny Stevens Scholarship ($15,000 per year)
This scholarship was funded by Dave and Ginny as a commitment to the youth of the Blowing Rock community in 2002. Since its inception three students – Stephanie Gregg (Appalachian State University), Mark Linnville (Princeton University), and Haley Banks Harwood (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) – have received this scholarship.

David and Nancy Rankin Scholarship ($10,000 per year)
This scholarship was funded in 2015 by the Rankin family to honor their parents. David Rankin served for many years as a Director of the Foundation. Sarah Gailes (Wingate University) is the first recipient of this scholarship.

Dan and Jane Wolfe Scholarship ($15,000 per year)
This scholarship was named in 2014 by the Foundation to honor the support and generosity of Dan and Jane. Both were proud supporters of the Foundation’s scholarship program. Cam Linnville (Catholic University) is the first recipient of this scholarship.

Judith Burns Scholarship ($2,000 per year)
This scholarship was named in 2015 by the Foundation to honor Judy Burns who served as the Treasurer and chief cheerleader for the Foundation for many years. Judy died in 2014. Austin Northern (Liberty University) is the first recipient of this scholarship.